I’m a blog whore

It’s true. I have started…well. No one likes keeping track, right? Let’s just say the number is north of 10. I have started a LOT of blogs. Each one had a different theme, you see.

There was the blog for reflux babies. There are some posts on there that are pure gold, my friends. I have been sporadically updating a semi-anonymous blog chronicling my transition from PhD student to Junior Faculty. If I update it once every 3 months, it’s still “active”, right? There was the blog I started to share the drama and stress of our recent house purchase. I typed up and scheduled 7 posts – one about each of our moves these past 9 years. Those are still happening I think. I set them as a #throwbackthursday type of deal – so one per week. Which means it looks like I’m still actively blogging there, but…I’m not. The stress and insanity got to be more than I could even possibly keep up with in real time – let alone blog about. And now we’ve been in the house for over a month and the spark is gone.

Countless more blogs, each themed. Each abandoned.

I have kept a private family blog for seven years. Count ’em. Seven. It’s a personal record. So I thought to myself, Self. Why is that blog still working for you, when you go through all these other ones like John Mayer does girlfriends?

I think it’s because there is no theme. I just write. About my kids. Our adventures. The good stuff. The not so good stuff.

So that’s the new plan. This blog will be a jumbled mish-mash hodge-podge smorgasbord of my life. There is NO THEME. And maybe I’ll stick with this one longer than John Mayer did Taylor Swift.

Fingers crossed!

Leave a comment